spiegelsaal logo2

Rotunda

Spiegelsaal

Telefón (421) 908-321-299

Kalinčiakova 14, Trnava, Slovakia

e-mail: spiegelsaaltt@gmail.com

 

 

 

Painting decoration of garden pavilion in Trnava

23.9.2013, Pamiatkový úrad slovenskej republiky, Milan Kazimír

The national cultural monument at 5 Kalinčiakova Street in Trnava, also known as Spiegelsaal, is one of the few buildings preserved outside the medieval town centre that were erected before the 19th century.

It was built by a nobleman and businessman of Croatian origin, Jozef Skolonič, who settled in the village of Vydrany, and centralised his business activities in Trnava during the last decades of the 18th century. He moved to Trnava in 1789, after he bought a farmstead with garden, near a Franciscan church, behind the western fortification, from the Bishop and Canon Imrich Okoličáni. Skolonič later enlarged this residential-farm area with a smaller but richly decorated building. The classicistic garden pavilion was first mentioned in 1791 as an unfinished construction. It was completed the year after, as states the dating above the main entrance. During the course of the 19th century, the area had several owners. Since 1875, for almost seventy years, it was in the hands of the Krausz family. In 1942, Otto Krausz sold it to Jozef Hulík, whose intention was to knock the whole area down and build a factory for producing smoked meat. The District Office, however, directed him to repair the residential part with the old tower, the so-called Spiegelsaal, in the rear part of the site. Thanks to this, the unique building remained standing up to this date; despite it being used as storage and left to deteriorate since the second half of the 20th century. The renovation of the pavilion was discussed in 1979, after the geodetic survey was carried out and photo-documentation collected for the monument restoration. By the end of the 1980s the roof was repaired and the building insulated. The works were brought to a halt by the property restitution and disinterest of the owners to invest in the building. The rescue arrived with new owners, who started the exterior renovation in 2006. After assessing the existence and scale of the preserved classicistic painting decoration in the interior, they initiated the restoration of the painting in 2012. The work of an educated, but unidentified painter depicts an illusionary wooden garden architecture, a garden house, which has no known analogy in Slovakia. The work was restored by Peter Koreň, Martin Vojtko and Juraj Gregorek. The restoration of this typologically unique small building from the end of the 18th century, co-financed by the Trnava town, is part of the overall monument renovation of the area that is to be completed in 2013.

Prejsť na originálny článok

Otváracie hodiny

Po-Št: 07:00 - 23:30
Pia: 07:00 - 01:30
So:  10:00 - 01:30
Ne:  15:00 - 22:00